Skip to content

12 Days of Christmas: Day 3 is (my) Dad’s Birthday!

December 13, 2010

Today is my father’s birthday. He’s 67 years old today!

(The fire department refused to let us light that many candles for fear of a repeat Chicago-style fire.)

via Getty Images

My dad was with me when I bought my very first pair of big-girl career shoes. We went shopping in Michigan after Christmas  when I was in college, and he watched as I tried on

every.

single.

pair.

in the store.

and then when nothing fit, we repeated that at the next store. I’d like to say he didn’t make even a peep of complaint, but I’d be lying. He complained like a sailor on holiday in a dry county.  But he was insistant that we did not leave without the perfect shoes for my internship in the spring semester.

We eventually settled on matte black 4-inch mary jane square-toed heels from Payless and cream bow-detailed slingbacks from Nine West. Both of those shoes were worn out long ago, but the memory I have of my dad holding up ladies’ shoes for two hours is irrevocably carved into my brain.

Today’s holiday gift idea:

Fathers, spend time with your daughters. Even if it’s just to go shoe shopping. It’s not *just*  shoe shopping to us. Even if we look cranky the whole time…

Daughters, try to be understanding when your dad is the most uncool person EVER. They grow up…and so do you.

 

*****make sure to check out my sister’s post for Dad’s bday over at Miss Vinyl Ahoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. deb permalink
    December 13, 2010 7:12 pm

    Wonderful Post!

  2. December 14, 2010 12:31 am

    That is a TON of candles. It would have been very exciting to see them all lit. It’s great that you have such fond memories with your dad!

    The last picture is darling.

    Lindsey Soup

  3. December 14, 2010 12:45 pm

    Aww… you both (you & Suze) have very touching posts about your father. 😦 Being a daddy’s girl, I’m quite attached with my father too, although I haven’t spent the last 14 years with him. Yes, sad cause I know I’ve missed a lot… but I also understand the situation. I love my Dad so much too. :’)

    Belated happy birthday to your Dad! 😉

Leave a Reply

