Skip to content

Bah-Limey, That’s Good!

October 18, 2010

According to Hockey Momma, I am addicted to a particular beverage from a particular drive-in establishment. She is fully correct, I am an addict. A lime+cherry+ade addict.

But the only drive-in establishment that sells these drinks is too far out in the suburbs for me to visit as often as my addiction would like (my addiction would like me to park an RV in one of the stalls and never leave).

So it behooved me to find a DIY Cherry Limeade recipe. I found some stinkers, but then set out to make my own recipe. After guzzling two 2-liters of soda, I’ve found it. It’s so simple! **hiccup**

I prefer diet soda, so I purchased Diet 7-up. DON’T buy the cherry version because it ends up tasting like cough syrup. Not a pleasant taste! Go ahead and fill a glass 3/4 full of ice. Then fill it with the soda, leaving at least an inch of space at the top.

Now is the TIME for LIMES! Grab one lime and cut it into quarters. Squeeze the juice of two quarters into the glass, and reserve the other quarters (I’ll tell you why in a hot minute).

Cherry time! Cherry syrup is by far the easiest thing to use to make this. So grab yourself a bottle of red grenadine and pour away! Just kidding. Measure out 1.5 tablespoons and stir into glass. Take the two lime quarters you reserved earlier and stick on top, with one marachinso cherry for decoration. Ta-Da!

Cherry Limeade
(serves one)

  • 12-oz can Lemon-Lime soda (I used Diet 7-Up)
  • 1 Lime
  • 1.5 Tbsp Grenadine
  • Ice
  1. Fill glass 3/4 full with ice.
  2. Pour soda into glass leaving an inch of room at the top.
  3. Cut lime into quarters, and squeeze two quarters into glass.
  4. Measure 1.5 Tbsp grenaidne into glass.
  5. Stir, top with remaining lime quarters, and enjoy!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 11:45 am

    cher, you are EVIL for posting those photos!
    i dont have one of “said establishments” anywhere within several HOURS of my house, but whenever i DO happen to find one, i pull over for one of these beverages.
    methinks i may need to start keeping cherries + grenadine in the house!

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      October 20, 2010 5:27 pm

      but it’s not too bad! diet soda = zero calories, and if you use 1.5 tbsp grenadine, it’s 68 calories plus the negligible value of the limes…so it’s not TOO unhealthy!

  2. Natalie permalink
    October 22, 2010 2:52 pm

    We have one of these establishments right down the street and my kids and I are only too familiar with Happy Hour there when drinks are half price from 2-4 pm. This looks like a much better alternative for me, especially at 68 calories! Thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

