Skip to content

A Slightly Pissed-Off Letter to Time Magazine

September 21, 2010

Dear Time Magazine and Megan Friedman,

I don’t care if men notice if I’m wearing high heels. Know why? Because I’m not a one of those women who went to college to earn a M.R.S. degree.

I do not base my appearance on what the opposite sex might or might not want. I dress for myself and no one else. It’s called “having self-esteem.”

I wake up in the morning and put on pretty shoes because I like wearing them. I wear nice clothes and dress in a way that I enjoy that just happens to be what some might consider pretty because…wait for it….I WANT TO. Not because it’s going to snag me a husband.

Apparently you assumed that your readership is made of insecure women with low-self-esteem. You know what happens when you assume? “U” looks like an ass and “me” don’t care.

Next time there’s a slow news day, do the population a favor and stick to coverage of whichever out-of-control young actress is currently making headlines, because that’s really your strength.

-Sincerely,

Shoe a Day

7 Comments leave one →
  1. sara permalink
    September 21, 2010 3:27 pm

    Oh that article really bugged me. Your response was so well put. Bravo!

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      September 21, 2010 3:57 pm

      Thanks! I thought it was completely ridiculous.

  2. kjpugs permalink
    September 21, 2010 8:43 pm

    HERE HERE! Well said, Cher. They’re a bunch of idiots.

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      September 22, 2010 12:47 pm

      Thank you! I was thinking “is it just me? Am I being overly sensitive? Or is this really a crock of bullshiiiizzzzz….”

  3. September 22, 2010 12:41 pm

    Well said but I haven’t read the other article… Do you have a link?

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      September 22, 2010 12:47 pm

      Yep, here you go… http://bit.ly/9ocRzG

      • September 23, 2010 9:36 am

        Just read the article now. Wow. As if women wears heels just to be noticed by men. That’s the first time I heard about this cause it never crossed my mind. For me, I love wearing heels because I feel beautiful. I look better on heels cause they make my casual clothes look better. As if I care what others (esp men) think or if they doesn’t notice it at all.

Leave a Reply

