Skip to content

From the Feet Up @ the MTV VMAs 2010

September 13, 2010

Yay! Another award show! I must admit that posting about the MTV Video Music Awards is much more fun than stuffy awards like the Emmy show, simply because not everyone covers up their feet with lengthy dresses, and the FUN factor is a much bigger deal at MTV VMA.

Starting with a leather Pucci-clad Emma Stone (left) who vamps up her look with black Giuseppe Zanotti shoes; contrasting Katy Perry‘s (right) fluffy Bjork-inspired frock and Jimmy Choo shoes.

Am I missing something? Did Diddy plan this as an extension of his White Party? All I see is black and white so far. (But it’s not a bad thing, as illustrated by Ashley Green (left) in her Jimmy Choo heels. Also, I love that these women are, for the most part, carrying clutch purses. It’s refreshing to see the normally empty-handed carpet prancers carrying their own lipstick and whatnont (cell phones, I assume) as opposed to letting handlers deal with such plebeian matters.  But off my soapbox and back to the shoes. Ciara, in a gorgeous feathered sheath (right) almost nails her look, but her clunky pearl-white Givenchy jersey multi-strap wedges are an abysmal match to her pinkish dress tails.

Is Audrina Patridge following in drag queen-wannabe Heidi Montag’s terrible music footsteps? Let’s home not…. but I would like to know why Audrina was at the VMAs, but not as much as I want to gush about her amazing $2,300 Balmain Metallic Rhinestone Pumps. She’s never a disappointment on the shoe-front, although she does have an affinity for the sparkle-bauble-rhinestone-crystal studded sandal. Talk about contrast: Her silver-on-silver dress is reminiscent of a hooker on Hollywood boulevard, but the shoes are pure red (or white) carpet.

Likewise, why is Lo Bosworth at the Video MUSIC Awards? Her presence isn’t the worst crime, however… Her dress is. Yuck! Between the color, the one shoulder, the neckline…It’s a vomit-inducing look. Luckily, she’s saved by her strappy shoes, although I would have preferred a nude-colored shoe  instead of the dark brown. Reality stars get real, with real ugly fashions sometimes!

America’s Next Top Model Cycle 3 winner Eva Pigford (seriously, where are all the actual music artists?!?!) wore a rather interesting frock –Shuttles would say it’s “just looovely”– and coupled it with sky-high electric blue Versace platform pumps.

Feeling a little patriotic? Must be because Selena Gomez is rocking a Statue of Liberty dress. The silver-on-silver look is a little much, especially on the white carpet. Ms. Gomez could have done with a little less greyscale and a little more full color. At least her Brian Atwood Kendall sandals are cute.

Wearing real garbage bags picked up from Home Depot, Ke$ha accessorizes her trashy dress with amazing patent wedges. If my body looked like that, I’d have the cajones to wear trash bags, too!

Lastly is the best award look I’ve seen in years. Lady Gaga never fails to disappoint, and last night was no different. Setting aside the fact that Alexander McQueen is my all-time favorite designer, Lady Gaga wore an incredible ensemble. Topping it all off was the divisive Armadillo shoe from McQueen’s spring 2010 ready-to-wear collection. Some may say “oh, that’s last season.” but those people are idiots. This shoe is amazing. I don’t care if it takes me 20 years, I WILL get my feet in them.

What was your favorite VMA look? Are you still loving the sky-high heel trend on the red/white carpet or are you looking forward to the kitten heel trend to gain traction?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. deb permalink
    September 13, 2010 7:23 pm

    I LOVE Katy Perry’s Jimmy Choo shoes. Do you have a side view of them?

  2. kjpugs permalink
    September 13, 2010 10:13 pm

    Wow. I am so not well-versed in shoes now when I see this. I hated her dress but Lo’s are my favorite!

  3. September 14, 2010 8:49 am

    I love Emma Stone’s shoes. 🙂 I like pumps and sparkly shoes so that would be my favorite for this post. Next would be Ciara’s wedges… I don’t like the dress though. T.T I’m not into Gaga’s fashion so I have no comments with her look. I can’t see myself wearing those shoes. I think I wouldn’t even be able to stand up if I’d try them on. XD

    Honestly, I still like sky-high heel than kitten heels. I dunno if it’s just me but I trip more wearing kitten heels than the high ones. Am I weird? XD

  4. Colby Shea permalink
    September 14, 2010 3:32 pm

    Gah, Emma is such a doll, I’m so glad she’s becoming a household name. But my oh my, I would KILL for Lo’s shoes… even though her toes look wonky in them. XD

  5. lubna permalink
    September 28, 2010 10:01 am

    I really like selena dress and shoes but lady gaga i really wont prefer wearing those sky-heals sandals .I like katy perry’s hair looking nice . emma stone is really a doll.

  6. lubna permalink
    September 28, 2010 10:05 am

    lady gaga your r looking like a 90 years old grandmother i luv u r songs but u r dresses r like shit.

Leave a Reply

