Skip to content

You Sunk my Partnerships!

August 11, 2010

I’m sure I’m not the first or the last, but I’ve recently received an e-mail that enraged me.

Why? Well, why don’t you read it and then I’ll tell you why after:


Dear Influential Blogger,

We have come across your blog/website and feel you would be an ideal partner for our content. We have selected your blog based on one or all of the following :
  • Location
  • Content/Subject matter
  • Demographics of the target reader
  • Quality
  • Traffic
What we do ?
Our staff shops the internet daily for deals across 500+ etailers and web merchants.  We present these daily deals to our readers in a convenient  by category format. We post these links on our blog ( twitter, facebook etc) and send one daily email to our readers. This process takes many many  man hours and provides great value to the consumer as they can quickly identify products that may interest them in mere minutes. We want to offer this content to your readers for free.

How will it benefit you ?
  • Your readers will appreciate this daily content/information you are providing them and keep them interested in your blog.
  • You will be outsourcing the creation of this content for free.
  • By providing additional value to readers, you will create loyalty and word of mouth
  • This can all be done automatically with the use of RSS feeds. Less time for you to maintain your blog.
As blog writers/publishers the creation of daily original content is important and time consuming.
How does it benefit us ?
We hope to get more exposure for our service and also generate more traffic to for our retail partners. (We have traffic and sales agreements with these retailers/merchants)
We can also customize the feed to your blog. Please contact us if there are any problems so we may assist you in setting this up for you site/blog. Please feel free to contact me as we would love to partner with you and make this a win-win for both of us.
-Anthony

So here’s why I’m enraged:

1. It’s a FORM E-MAIL! It’s not even addressed to me! Seriously Anthony, how can you expect to make a lasting partnership if you DON’T EVEN KNOW WHO I AM!

2. How is this a win-win situation for me? I get nothing out of the deal except trashy-looking, ad-ridden RSS feeds. They get free advertising and I get jack $hit? THEY UNDERESTIMATE ME.

3. I love that they have to tell me that “the creation of daily original content is important and time consuming” because I obviously don’t know that.

4. I checked out their website. It uses Blogger!!! So it’s not really a website. it’s a blog. And not a very good one. I don’t link to crappy blogs and I definitely won’t link to crappy blogs masquerading as legitimate business websites!!!

Instead of deleting spammy e-mails like this, I prefer to reply….

Oooooooooh I LOVE to reply.

Want to see what I replied with?


Dear Anthony,

While I am flattered at the recipient of this form e-mail, I am unsure if I want to to participate in such a partnership. After all, since I am an “Influential Blogger” I should be using my talent for good and not evil, don’t you think? I’m unsure if an important blogger such as myself should clog my valuable blog space with spammy-looking ads and feeds which would not only cheapen my brand, but also risk sending my readers running for the hills.

If you had truly read my blog, you would know that it is entirely independent and funded through my full-time job as a PR rep –yes, you see, I know how the game is played– as well as the excess of my own closet. I have laid out my philosophy about working with so-called partners in black and white (and pink).

In case you missed it, here is my position on partnerships/sponsors: I do not have partnerships or sponsors, nor do I want them. My blog is the product of my opinions, not of my desire to make money from what I’m sure is yet another internet fad. Independent blogging is an endangered phenomenon and I, for one, will not be part of the exhaustive plundering of first amendment rights in the digital world.

However, you will be receiving substantial coverage when I blog about your preposition. Any press is good press, is it not?

Regards,

Cher


A great way to build partnerships is through positive communication, not blast e-mails. How have you dealt with these situations? Do you just ignore them? Or are you trigger-happy like me?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 12:34 pm

    Hehehehe…. (pink)…

  2. August 11, 2010 2:05 pm

    Whoop, der it is!

    Amen, sista! I’m glad you wrote back. You weren’t trigger-happy, you were right in giving it back. And I admire your independent spirit.

    I’m still mulling over sponsorship stuff, and truth be told, I can’t be bothered to chase it up. I’ve had some people approach me, and so far it’s crap. Like you said, I like control. If it’s not a good fit, and is totally insulting and cheap, uh, NO! Anyway, it would take a gazillion sponsors to be able to fund my lifestyle.

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      August 11, 2010 2:12 pm

      Thank you! I have been getting a lot of e-mails like that due to the fact that I freely give away my blog e-mail address AND link to it.

      Bloggers need to realize what they are worth! We are worth more than bogus “partnerships.” I’m not going to give away free advertising for a company unless I love their product. In which case, I write about it.

      That being said, I would advertise for ANYTHING Christian Louboutin produced. I’m a whore for his product. 🙂

Leave a Reply

