Skip to content

Going Hog Wild

August 4, 2010

Being such a shoe hog, I don’t have a lot of time in my life to learn how to cook. But for some inexplicable reason (No so inexplicable: I was hungry) I cooked on  Monday night. I’d like to share my recipe/procedure. Why? Because I took pictures of it and it’s my blog so I can post whatever I want. Even if it’s not shoes.*

I’m cooking pulled pork! Yay! So, I have these two hunks of pork meat –don’t ask me what cut, I have no idea. Just tell your butcher (or baker or candlestick maker) that you want to make pulled pork and what kind of pork do you need for that? Then, if you’re like me,  you’ll stick the meat in the freezer and forget about it for a couple months. Then, when  you defrost it by sticking it in the fridge, it will leak pork blood all over the top shelf of your fridge INCLUDING the condiments that you can’t disinfect so in addition to cooking, you have to clean out your fridge.

So, after you’re not so pissed at the pork, it’s time to cook it. Sort of. My dad cooks this dish all the time and he takes time to lovingly cover the entire pork’s surface with specific rubs, spices, and such. We’re not doing that. Dump some chili powder in a big pot. If you don’t have this, no big deal.

Dump in some garlic, too. Also, admire the cute gold bracelet my parents got me for some birthday when I was a teenager. And my freakishly tumor-like side palm.

Pretty much grab anything in your spice cabinet that isn’t cinnamon or cream of tarter (please just trust me on that one) and dump it in the pot. I have salt, pepper, ground celery ceed, dill, spanish chili powder, crushed red peper, onion powder, and chicken bouillon.

Yeah, chicken bouillon. It didn’t occur to me that this might be a strange thing to put in a pork dish. Oh well, à la Sarah Palin, I’m a maverick!


Ok, time to get the meat into the pot. Use tongs if you’re sqemish like me and try not to drop it on the floor.  (Hey look, it’s Catmug!

Of course, now you’re left with a bag of blood. Yum. Please discard ASAP.

Wiggle the meat around in the pot to cover it in the spices. Then, if you’re especially ADD like me, you’ll want to take close-up photos of the meat  because it looks like the himalayas

See? That’s Mt. Chercantcookalu

Then get some kind of tomato product in a can (I had tomato puree which does NOT taste exactly like ketchup, fyi…)  Hello again, Catmug!

I need a new pair of shoes in exactly this color. Maybe the next time I go shopping I’ll haul along a can of tomato puree.

Dump (well, slowly pour or you’ll end up with tomato splatters on your brand-new Victoria’s Secret shorts) the tomato stuff into the pot over the meat. Then add water until the meat is covered.

Bring it to a boil over high heat and then reduce to a simmer (apparently that is NOT the setting just below high…) and cover and cook for two hours or so.

When it’s done…oh, how do you know it’s done? try to lift the meat out of the pot without it falling apart. If it falls of the bone/shreds then it’s done.  (also, if it steams up your camera lens, it’s done.)

Steamy! Now we just have to take one more gratuitous pork shot before we get to the actually shredding part.

mmmmmm….  Simply pull it apart and toss any fatty bits. Also, don’t eat the bone.

After shredding it, I forgot the flash was on and kind of blinded myself. But since I was so hungry and there was a giant bowl of pulled pork in my lap, I didn’t take another picture for ya. Sorry!

Disclaimer: I have no idea how to cook. Follow this recipe at your own risk.

*Just in case you think for one second this post has nothing to do with shoes, let me prove you wrong.

I wore these while cooking.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 10:22 am

    But of course you wore those while cooking! That recipe actually sounds (and looks) delish. Will let you know when I get into wife mode and cook it.

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      August 4, 2010 12:38 pm

      It really is awesome. Aside from having to clean my fridge and splattering myself with tomato puree, it was relatively painless. The chicken bouillon might have been too much though…

  2. August 4, 2010 4:50 pm

    The dish looks yum! ^^ But I love the shoes moooore! XD I love the heart buckle! So girlish… ^^

  3. August 4, 2010 9:05 pm

    funny stuff! had me chuckling throughout. i’m not much of a cook either, but i do attempt it every so often. this pork, the other white meat, dish is one i might just have to try out one o these days.

Leave a Reply

