Skip to content

I Can See Clearly Now: Lucite Necklace DIY

August 3, 2010

The way my mind works is hard to describe. Most inconsequential things  just slip right through, and that includes stuff that makes me go “Oooooooh, shiny!” But some things, for no discernible reason, get stuck in my head. Sometimes for months….

Like this gorgeous lucite necklace:

It might not look as impressive as I make it sound,  but as part of Spring 2010 fashion week last fall it took my breath away.

Models in the Michael Kors show wore these golfball-sized lucite necklaces during their runway strut. I couldn’t wait to get one! But (you knew there was a but, right?) the necklace cost $695.

I shouldn’t can’t spend more than two car payments on a necklace… Especially a trendy necklace that will assuredly be out of style in a couple years. I’ve been searching…waiting…impatiently (is there any other way to wait?) for months for a less expensive version. I almost sprung for a $40 version in December, but even $40 is kind of pricey when you’re supposed to be buying Christmas presents for family.

How thrilled was I when I spotted this at Forever 21:

Really freakin’ thrilled!!! Except it was a long necklace. Bummer… So I didn’t buy it, I was too sad to come so close to what I wanted, but not get it.

But Suze bought it for me anyway. After several days with it, I realized I could remove the length of chain on either side and reattach the clasps closer to the beads. It took me 10 minutes and all I needed was a pair of pliers.

Oh, and the price? $5.80 at Forever 21 (in case you want to Semi-DIY too)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 9:21 am

    I bought it for you because I KNEW you would be upset if you didn’t own it, since you went through TWO other similar necklaces… 🙂 I am an awesome sister!

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      August 3, 2010 1:02 pm

      Yes, you are. Thank you:)

  2. August 3, 2010 11:17 am

    Great DIY!

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      August 3, 2010 1:02 pm

      Thanks! I’m pretty proud of my very first DIY 🙂

  3. August 3, 2010 12:54 pm

    Love it! And 6$ is way better than $600. Seriously, who spends $600 dollars on a non-platinum, non-diamond necklace?

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      August 3, 2010 12:59 pm

      If my wallet had a black AmEx, then…ME!

  4. August 3, 2010 1:17 pm

    what a simple yet brilliant idea! :o)

  5. August 3, 2010 4:10 pm

    Oh, that’s good. I too loved the Michael Kors necklace and bracelets. Your necklace would look very good with what I’m wearing today. Just so you know…

    ps I really considering sending you a photo of my shoes. Would you like them color coded or by style?

  6. kjpugs permalink
    August 6, 2010 7:50 pm

    Muaha HA I am so ahead of the trends. I bought a clear bead necklace just like this at Target circa early 2007. Except the string it’s on is green, which looks really really cool.

    So THERE. I’m TRENDY (I barely believe it.)

Leave a Reply

