Skip to content

This IS About Shoes Because I Was Wearing Them

July 29, 2010

I take the train to work every morning. I reverse-commute out to the suburbs, so there are fewer trains going my way. Thus, I plan my schedule accordingly so I (#1) can make the train and (#2) because I don’t like to run in the sweltering  heat and (#3) I don’t run in heels.

The entrance to the suburban trains is a gradual upward ramp (instead of stairs), which when you enter is wide enough to accommodate two or three people. As you walk the ramp narrows until you get to the to where you can fit just one person. Because of this, most people walk in a single-file line. It’s not brain surgery.

This morning, I was right on time for the train. I was at the bottom of the ramp 3 minutes before the train was due (which is plenty of time, in case you’re wondering) I  had with me my excellent yellow cross-body purse and was carrying a giant Bare Escentuals bag (in it were two pairs of shoes and Reese’s Puffs. I know, I’m an intriguing woman.)

Pushy Train Day

I was walking at a brisk pace (normal Chicago speed) when all of the sudden, I’m shoved into the wall.  I didn’t know if I was being robbed or WHAT was going on, but I dropped just about everything I was carrying except my coffee. I looked up in time to see a VERY pushy man rudely shoving people aside as he raced up the ramp to catch the train.

Except the train wasn’t there yet. Think about it: A train platform that only boards one train going in one direction, and people are walking up the ramp to said platform. Do you THINK they aren’t trying to make the same train? This man obviously had absolutely no ability to take in his surroundings and THINK and even less grasp of manners and politeness.

So I was very upset (thinking someone might be robbing you is kind of upsetting, especially when you’re carrying Stuart Weitzman shoes!!) and I was determined to let him know he was in the wrong. When I got to the platform, the train -of course- wasn’t there yet, so I strolled over to Mr. Premature-Trainjaculator and told him that he was rude and was he even aware that he shoved me into a wall and I dropped all my things? His response?

“You’re a bitch.”

Seriously?! “You exhibited behavior similar to a mugger! I don’t think that makes me a bitch. It makes you a tiny little man who has issues judging time and even more problematic, you have no manners!” Oddly enough, another commuter (a man) called him an asshole and the guy didn’t even blink. I am TIRED of being called names simply because I manage to be both assertive AND a woman. It’s a crappy double-standard.

“Get over it. I was just trying to make the train”

Might I add that nowhere in this did he offer any kind of an apology or show remorse for being a rude little turd. So I whipped out my phone and took a picture of him. He turned his head away from me at the last moment and said:

“I don’t care. Take my photo. Savor the memory.”

That’s exactly what I’m doing. And I am inviting the entire internet to do the same:

Mr. Rude is the man in black. He is balding, wears old-man glasses and has a potbelly. He’s obviously an unhappy man….with a purse.

He was boarding the 7:56 AM westbound train on the Union Pacific West Line at the Oak Park station.

If you’d like to meet him, feel free. And if you’d like to pour hot coffee on him, may I buy you a cup of coffee beforehand?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 9:44 am

    Oh, no he DIDN’T. I admire your restraint – calling me a bitch would have landed him a swift kick to the nuts.

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 29, 2010 9:45 am

      Thanks:) It was barely 8 am… Who is even awake at that point to be rude?! Most people are still in the zombie-stage of waking.

  2. July 29, 2010 9:45 am

    You’re not a bitch, not at ALL. He was totally out of line.
    He was obviously never taught manners, because if he had, the only reason he would’ve been rushing ahead of you was the hold the door open for you.

    Stupid people.

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 29, 2010 9:46 am

      hahaha “hold the door open for you” I love it.

  3. July 29, 2010 9:50 am

    Good for you for calling him out on his rudeness. I hate when women are called “bitch” for standing up for what’s right. We all know that HE’S the one with issues.

    I’m betting that when he rides the train home at night, he puts his key in the door of an empty house, and after entering, he sits there in his solitude, stuffs himself full of disgusting food while he watches TV, then goes to bed alone and wakes up the next day to do it all over again. Cause you know to be that rude and disgruntled, he’s not bagging anyone and that’s because as he’s demonstrated, he’s a chauvinistic little pot-bellied pig, and no one could possibly stand him.

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 29, 2010 10:16 am

      Normally I am very blunt, upfront, and assertive. I HATE that I get labelled as a bitch for that. If I was a man, I’d just be “normal.” double standards like that just kill me. The man who told him he was an ass didn’t get called a bitch!

    • July 29, 2010 11:53 am

      Love (and agree with) every word G&G!

  4. July 29, 2010 10:12 am

    Woah… that man has no damn manners. He didn’t even say sorry. How stupid. I would’ve done the same and call him rude. What a stupid guy. He’s at fault, didn’t say sorry and even called you bitch?

    We all know you didn’t deserve what happened. I wish he was facing the camera on the picture so the whole world will know his ugly face and stupidity.

    I wish you’ll meet him next time and if he happen to shove you again, please spill the coffee on him. Please. 🙂

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 29, 2010 10:14 am

      I’ll admit that I CAN be a bitch, but in this situation I wasn’t. I wish I had a “coffee bazooka” to shoot him with.

  5. belt buckles permalink
    July 29, 2010 10:28 am

    How rude was that guy! cant believe some people

  6. Kari permalink
    July 29, 2010 12:57 pm

    I would wear that BITCH label with pride! Why? Because you stood up for all that is good, honest and decent! If someone thinks common courtesy and manners are not acceptable, then I want nothing to do with them.

    Ugh people like him make me sick! At least the red necks down here with missing teeth will still open a door for a gal!

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 29, 2010 1:27 pm

      I was wondering what your reaction to this would be. I figured most people would say “Cher, you’re overreacting. Per usual.” It’s nice to know I wasn’t!

  7. July 29, 2010 7:54 pm

    That guy is clearly a douchebag. I get labelled in similar fashion for similar things, and it is indeed stupid.

    What a frustrating way to start your day!

  8. Jill permalink
    July 30, 2010 7:06 am

    Wow, some people are ignorant. Good for you for being assertive. And restrained. I would have probably caused a scene and looked like an idiot. You should be proud of yourself for calling him out on his behavior, even if he’s too much of a jerk to apologize.

Leave a Reply

