Skip to content

Friday Top 10 Links

July 16, 2010

This week, I take a break from stalking your blogrolls to give A-Dubs from In Professional Fashion a spin as Guest Editor. She’s doing her best today to make my blogroll look like fluff. (And, wow, does she succeed. Perhaps I should cancel my subscription to LOLCats…)

Her Top 10 Links bring up questions like: Do you (unknowingly) support companies that stereotype minorities? Does religion come into play where you shop? How do you deal with the weighty “weight” issue? Who has the right to tell you what to wear? Mull over that while you read her Top 10 posts of the past seven days:

  • At Ephemera, Sheila does beautiful things with colour, has fantastic style, a shoe collection to die for, and occasionally even gives us some book reviews. This week she’s been featuring some wicked colours.
  • Rad_In_Brooklyn, of The Cohabiting Closet disses the French government’s recent decision to ban the burqa. Really, France? Really? Because many burqa and/or abaya-wearing women don’t seem to share your take on this piece of women’s clothing. (sidenote: One of my favourite middle-eastern fashion bloggers is Pixie of I Love Hishma)
  • Over at Racialicious, Thea Lim, Tami Winfrey Harris, Joseph Lamour, Latoya Peterson, & Andrea Plaid provide fascinating roundtable discussion of sex, race, and extreme violence against women in Season 3 of HBO’s True Blood, the vampire series many fashionable people love that makes Twilight look like kid stuff.
  • V of Grit and Glamour vlogs about personal blog skills, what you need to know and what you should never do.
  • Tune in this week for Fit for a Femme’s accessorizing with Tahari slingbacks and hilarious clipboard slogans. Then stay for more sultry femme and hot tomboy fashion, smart politics, the occasional saucy innuendo, and some of the most gorgeous photos in the fashion blogoverse.
  • Interrobangs Anonymous – Katie takes Forever 21, American Apparel, our beloved Sally Ann thrift shop, and others to task for unethical behaviour.
  • Attention summer boot-wearing fashionistas! Check out Fashionable Academics’ Call For Papers/Pictures for their “Badass Bondgirls Conference.”  They’re accepting submissions until Monday, July 26th. Oh goddess, I canNOT wait.
  • Perhaps you already know this, but I can’t help reminding you that Style Underdog rocks the neutrals like nobody’s business. Like. Nobody’s. Business. Also, there’s a good chance she’s a superhero of accessories. Check her other posts for proof!
  • Over at Godammit I’m Mad, Sister Wolf discusses body image and anorexia in the fashion blogosphere.
  • And finally, come on over to In Professorial Fashion and tell us who you are and what you wear in your fantasy-alternative lives. I kick things off by sharing one alterna-self and – perhaps more importantly – her corresponding alterna-wardrobe in “Champagne Tastes: In Another Place, Not Here.”

*Remember, if you’re interested in (1) being in next week’s Friday Top 10, or (2) nominating someone as a guest editor, or (3) being a guest editor, comment about it on this post or send an e-mail to shoeadayblog@gmail.com.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2010 10:30 am

    Cher and A-Dubs…thanks ladies for including me again. You always make me smile!

    Happy Friday!

    ♥ V

    http://www.gritandglamour.com

  2. July 16, 2010 11:33 am

    Thanks Cher and A-Dubs for the shout out. I have clicked on all the links. I have a lot of reading to do.
    Beverly at Style Underdog

    p.s. I hate that “Eat Less” tee from U.O.

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 16, 2010 11:36 am

      As a big-fat-cow-type person, I fully agree. I live in Chicago! How can I eat less when there is deep dish pizza around? Maybe I’ll get that shirt and wear it to an all-you-can-eat buffet…

  3. July 16, 2010 12:24 pm

    Yes, thanks for the shout-out, A-Dubs. I’m so glad to have found a fellow academic/long torsoed feminist style blogger who has such a wicked sense of humor. And thanks for the other links! (To be read during my next break!

  4. July 16, 2010 1:04 pm

    To be clear: I only skimmed Cher’s Shoe-a-Day rules and thought I remembered others being all smartypantsy, so I thought I had to be, too. Not that I don’t enjoy everyone’s smart commentary. But I really love shoes. A LOT, so I was soooooo honoured to do this post. Because Cher’s blog makes me drool (over shoes) pretty much everyday.

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 16, 2010 1:13 pm

      The rules are fast&loose. I hate link love posts where you’re tightly reigned in. To be clear: My top 10 links posts are just to introduce people to new fabulous posts/blogs. Regardless of content, topics, etc. That would explain why I keep linking to posts of my sister’s cat! 🙂

      My blog makes me drool everyday too. It’s sad. I find shoes, drool, then post to make others’ drool. It’s a lovely, albeit damp, cycle.

  5. July 16, 2010 1:07 pm

    Gah! I’ll stop posting comments, I promise, but the Fashionable Academics link’s not working. Ok, I’m done.

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 16, 2010 1:13 pm

      got it! LOL, you think I would know how to do “CTRL C” and “CTRL V” by now…

  6. July 16, 2010 1:51 pm

    I blog with A-Dubs and I encourage you NOT to cancel your subscription to LOLcats. Because, you know, CATS. Clearly, A-Dubs is the brains behind our operation. And I have cats.

  7. July 20, 2010 8:56 pm

    I would love to be part of your Friday links. I started blogging about fashion a couple of months ago and I love your blog. I have a huge passion and interest in everything fashion from the runways in Paris to sales at Forever 21. You are part of my blogroll as well! Feel free to check me out!

Leave a Reply

