Skip to content

A Fashion Eclipse

July 4, 2010

I love the Twilight books.

The BOOKS. Not the movies.

The books make them seem so much more other-worldly. They’re vampires, for crying out loud! Not John Wayne clones! Can we dress them in something other than head-to-toe denim? Not that I look to these movies for my fashion cues, but the characters are supposedly super powerful immortal beings. If I was immortal, I’d wear much better shoes.

How cute would wedges look with Bella’s outfit? But I’m sure she’s wearing some grungy sneaker. Wasn’t Alice dressing her at this point??!

Side Note: this is one of my favorite editorial spreads I’ve ever seen of Kristen Stewart. Can’t she pull that stylist in for Breaking Dawn? According to the book, she DOES wear stilettos… So I’ll be on the lookout for that scene. If Bella is wearing Chucks, I’ll walk out of the theater. In a HUFF.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 10:37 am

    I’m a Twilight-er too. I just wanted to comment that although wedges would look very cute with Bella’s outfit, Bella would never wear wedges unless forced by Alice. I thought the costuming was pretty good for this movie. I think they look pretty stylish for being on patrol and being ready to chase after Victoria at any given moment.

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 4, 2010 11:01 am

      I don’t think they look BAD, I just think whoever their costume designer is severely limited their wardrobe choices. In the book they talk about looking like they (the vampires) are dressed expensively, but I didn’t get that effect at ALL. It was disappointing from a fashion perspective, when fashion and colors were a much bigger deal in print.

  2. July 4, 2010 9:07 pm

    hahah, yes, I would expect better than head to toe denim from Alice of all vampires!
    She wore this little ribbon and skull choker the whole movie, which seemed odd to me.

    And i think it’s super weird how they like to dress all the cullins alike. All white, all black, all denim???

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      July 5, 2010 10:55 am

      I agree that it’s weird they dress alike. I don’t remember reading in the books about how when you turn into a vampire that you sign a dress-code agreement. I guess I shouldn’t be looking to this tweeny movie for inspiring fashion strides, though.

  3. July 5, 2010 4:32 pm

    I feel the same. I love the books… never-mind the movies. T.T

    The acting’s bad, the script is bad, everything looks bad, even the clothes. From what I read on the book, they’re supposed to wear classy clothes that makes them stand out from the crowd… I didn’t see that on the movies though.

Leave a Reply

