Skip to content

Reader Request: Wedding Shoes

June 28, 2010

Oh, my favorite thing ever 🙂 A reader request!

Hi Cher! I need help finding the perfect shoes for my wedding. The details:

  • Wedding is in late October
  • Prefer a low-to-mid heel height
  • Outdoor ceremony, will be walking on grass
  • Prefer shoes without ankle straps
  • Autumn-inspired color options such as eggplant, burgundy, chocolate brown, orange/rusty orange.
  • Budget: under $100.

-EvaNadine of Stumble Into Style

She also included a picture of her gorgeous dress:

After much thought, I think with a vintage-inspired dress such as this one, the perfect wedding shoes are… (drumroll please…)

Dancing heels!

During a strenuous workout (such as ballroom dancing), feet tend to spread, so ballroom dancing shoes are cut wide. This is excellent for a wedding, where you’re on your feet all day (and night) long.

Also, dancing heels have what look like thin heels, but are really wider than most regular shoes. This gives extra support and keep your feet from aching.  Dancers wear these kinds of shoes while performing, so you KNOW they can stand up to a lot of abuse.

I found six excellent options, with one caveat: some have ankle straps. But, in my defense, these are low ankle straps, in order to allow the dancer’s feet to move freely, so the problem of normal HIGH ankle straps isn’t an issue.

Wedding Shoes
  • Option 1 Professional ballroom dance shoes: $86.43
  • Option 2 Capezio in copper: $63.90
  • Option 3 Ara: $37.80
  • Option 4 Naturalizer in “Moda Bronze Metallic Foil Napa Leather:” $35.65  (these are my faves)
  • Option 5 Söfft in Caramel Patent: $34.95
  • Option 6 Professional ballroom shoes: $59

One last bit of advice: Don’t, under any circumstances, get dyeable shoes. Walking outside on grass will make the color run and ruin the bottom of your dress. Trust me on this one.

Have a reader request? Sent me an e-mail at shoeadayblog@gmail.com.

When your foot is slim, it can be hard to find perfect shoes for everyday wear, but finding narrow ballroom dance shoes can be a real challenge. Feet spread when they’re given a hard work out, and dancing is just about the hardest workout around, so many ballroom dancing shoes tend to be cut wide.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 9:31 am

    If I had to chose, I think I’d got for #2, or #6, simply because I know I’d wear them again. Although, #1 and #4 look like real dancing shoes (I know #1 is!!). I think #3 is the simplest option, and would also flatter the dress.

    But, I think the shoe that fits EvaNadine’s options is #4- it has the color and the lower heel she wants.

    You should find a shoe for me!

  2. kjpugs permalink
    June 28, 2010 6:04 pm

    Ohhhh #3 is definitely my favorite!!!!!!! I want those shoes for myself 🙂

  3. June 29, 2010 8:34 am

    thanks for digging up some options!
    my personal favorites of the bunch are #4, but theres still almost 4 months to my wedding, so you will all just have to hold your breath to see what shoes i end up getting!

Leave a Reply

