Skip to content

Shoe-a-Day Newsflash: Monsieur Louboutin

June 15, 2010

Call me crazy, but I read the news on my teeny tiny ancient Blackberry on my way to work each morning (I take the train, I don’t drive…RELAX) including a very lengthy article about the recently very talkative Mr. Christian Louboutin. Seriously, has anyone else noticed that he’s been all over lately? I’ve read at least a dozen articles about him in the past couple months. Surprisingly, the articles all seem to have their own charm to them. Whether that is due to excellent writing or excellent subject matter can be debated, but the bottom line is: Christian Louboutin, the name, the shoe, and the person,  is GOLD right now.

Here’s some highlights (and pictures, too. I can’t say no to pictures, you know that!):

…part of Louboutin’s appeal, you must come to him. He does not come to you. And perhaps that’s also what fuels his unique eye toward fashion and design.

“I don’t look at the work of [other] people,” he said. “I like to look at a lot of things, but I wouldn’t say that I look at fashion designers so much. I don’t look at trends. I don’t even know the trends.”

“My favorite shoe is the one I have in my head — and it’s unfinished,” he said. “In general, that one is always my favorite. It’s the one that does not yet exist, but it will.”

It’s always interesting to see when different cultures are mixing. If I go to Egypt, I’m not going to do a belly-dancing collection, but maybe the quality of the sequins may come out in a different collection.

It’s a classical lacquered red, almost like a Chinese red. No. 1, it’s good luck. Also, if you think red, this is the red that comes to your mind. This red is the red in a way, a true red. I wanted the idea of red.

Question: Who is the one person you’d like to see wearing your shoes?
Mr. Louboutin: The Queen of England.

Read the entire article at WWD.

Funnily enough, I consider myself to sometimes be the Queen of England! Where oh where are my shoes, Monsieur Louboutin?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kjpugs permalink
    June 15, 2010 7:41 pm

    This is really cool, I had NO IDEA about any of this stuff!

  2. June 16, 2010 1:14 pm

    I LOVE the gold spiked shoes!!!

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      June 16, 2010 2:37 pm

      I know, I want them so badly! I don’t care if they are last season or ten seasons ago! I would wear them everywhere, even to work 🙂

Leave a Reply

