Skip to content

The Bee’s Knees

May 4, 2010

I visited my parents this weekend, and despite the rainy weather, my dad really wanted to play with electrical wiring on the front porch during a particularly nasty thunderstorm. (and some people wonder where my eccentricities come from!)

First of all, I would like to state that YES that photograph was taken by me, practicing my macro abilities. I’m getting better (I think) so maybe I’ll have some more close-up photos of shoe details in the future. Secondly, let’s all say it together “Ewwwwwww wasps!!!

Every time I glance at this picture, my skin starts to crawl (so of COURSE I had to share it!) Thirdly, the wasps (and the bees) inspired me to put together a post on an emerging shoe trend: Yellow.

These were the first ones I saw, and the yellow and black stripes do really remind me of a bee. I don’t know if I like these, but since I’m willing to wear my crazy kitchen-sink shoes, I shouldn’t pass judgment on these. Jimmy Choo Multi-Strap Sandal for $1,245 from Bergdorf Goodman.

Did I mention that yellow is my favorite color? Sure, it’s hard to use in print (seriously, try to design a printed newsletter with yellow as your main color. Let me know how that works out) but it is so cheery and happy. It is the perfect summer color. These GoJane shoe are the perfect summery sandals, and for only $19! I’m so glad my month-of-no-purchasing is over!!!!

Slides are an issue for me. They are just a small step away from being a clog. I think this pair really toes the line well, though. Had enough puns? I promise to stop…Here’s the important info:  Breeze by Charles David $125

Bows! Bows! Bows!!!  Little details like this half-bow give otherwise simple shoes some depth and create visual interest. And the name, “Lemon Meringue Heel” isn’t too boring either! From Modcloth, $34.99

Likewise, sometimes simplicity=beauty. The classic shape of these Dolce & Gabbana Pumps is appropriate for work and play, and everything in between…as long as you have $479 to spend!

Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t…and when I’m snacking on ice cream at Oak Street Beach, I don’t want to worry about dripping on expensive shoes. Try Spring for really inexpensive shoes, like these $9.98 Blethen Flats.

Michael Kors’ Dauphin is next in line to the throne in my closet. The trend of wider straps is one that I can heartily embrace. thick straps=fewer blisters. If you’ve got $220 to spend, these shoes are definitely worth it.

So I was saying that I’m a fan of thick straps on shoes…I am not sure how I feel about these kensieGirl sandals. It would take a lot of confidence and attitude to pull this Lenor style off. Oh wait, I have loads of both!!! I should get them, they are only $55…

I mention how little details can create visual interest…well, so can giant details!! Who couldn’t love Critia by Nina Shoes $99.

If electric yellow is too much for you,  try Barbe a lighter springy mustard yellow classic pointy-toe pump from Nine West for $49.99.

These Naughty Monkey sandals would give me a major Guilt Trip 2 if they weren’t so inexpensive at just $69.99.

Look like the Morton Salt Girl on any rainy day in these Hunter Wellies for $115.

Soft and springy, the pale yellow of these Aldo Brazler flats are worth their $40 price tag: almost all my flats are from Aldo and they are fantastic.

In the mood for something a little more rustic? Try these Maya Slingbacks from Frye for a not-so-rustic price of $176.95.

I didn’t want to include two pairs from Naughty Monkey, but I had to when I saw these pumps.  Strike a Pose seems like an awful mess at first, but the snakeskin and stripes make these shoes work on a nautical level, which is so very popular this year. Also, the $74.99 price is really reasonable!

I don’t know if I would really suggest anyone actually wear these, but they are hilariously cute. From Pleaser “Bee” for $42

Looks like my closet is going to have a perpetually sunny outlook once I purchase all the yellow shoes I’m crushing on!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 4:31 pm

    Hi cherrow414,
    Thanks for featuring our shoes on your blog! We appreciate the support.

    p.s. Yellow is my faaaaaavorite color!!!

    xoxo,
    Aire @ModCloth

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      May 5, 2010 4:41 pm

      Yellow is my favorite too! It wasn’t hard to do this post:)

Trackbacks

  1. Why My Mother Rocks « Shoe-a-Day

Leave a Reply

