Skip to content

Day 26: Bright and Shiny (Jewelry!)

April 26, 2010

It’s been 25 days since I made my vow to not shop for the entire month of April (minus that one badly-planned sale that I won’t even talk about because I don’t think the company deserves any more publicity) and here it is, 4 days away from the end of my self-imposed shopping-hibernation. How did I do?

Pretty freaking great!! In the last 25 days, I have purchased only ONE item: Earrings from Forever 21.

earrings-f21

For only $5.80, I don’t think this qualifies as “falling off the wagon,” especially since I had $20 set aside for the-sale-that-must-not-be-named (including shipping). There are several more pairs I liked but refrained from purchasing.

Dangling Feather Earrings
Norma Metal Tear Earrings
Rhinestone Chandelier Earrings

I know I tend to be all about shoes, but I do have a thing for costume jewelry. I wear pretty plain clothing (I hate patterns) and tend to stick with a similar look from day-to-evening events, but the way I bring out my inner awesomeness is with shoes (duh) and jewelry. I hate to spend loads of cash on trendy items, so stores like Forever 21 are a favorite of mine for jewelry.

Jeweled Wrap Ring

And here’s a tip for any of you worried about the low-quality materials turning your skin green: plain a layer of clear nail polish over any parts that will be in contact with your skin. This will keep the jewelry from tarnishing and your skin from looking like you have an incurable disease. I paint the insides of all my cocktail rings and they have never stained my skin.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

