Skip to content

DIY: Shoe Edition

March 31, 2010

Um…so my sister absolutely rocks. She sent me this link coupled with a few “OMG OMG OMG” and I didn’t really understand why…until I clicked the link.

Nina shoes has a new DESIGN YOUR OWN SHOES feature!! Oh my gosh. I’m not going to lie, I spent a ridiculous amount of time playing around on this site. It was a little confusing at first (note to the front-end designers at Nina, clean up these pages!!) so I went step-by-step through the process. Repeatedly. For a few hours. Oh, dear.

First, you chose which style shoe you want. I chose “DYO Elke”

Then you chose what heel height for the shoes. I chose the highest option available, of course!

Next up, is the best part.

Choosing colors! There are so many options! First up, you chose the “upper” color. This is the majority of the shoe body.

I chose “tea rose luster satin” for mine. I’ve been on a pink kick lately. Next, pick the color of the bow

I chose “baby pink luster satin” for my bow. Wonder what I’ll chose for the heel color?

Pink. Duh. “baby pink luster satin to match the bow, to be specific. There is only one color option left now. And it is the best!

The SOLE color! How cool is that?! I chose Raspberry…because it is a pink-ish color, of course.

Ta Da! My personal shoe!

Another great feature is the “different view” option.

You can see your new custom shoes from every angle!

You can also change the background color in order to see light-colored creations.

Of course this means I let my grey matter run amuck.

Is anyone a University of Michigan fan? You should be wearing these maize-and-blue heels!

Kelly, I found your apple-green heels. They come in low heels too. LOL, just a few days too late.

Try the desginer on Nina’s web site.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 5:09 pm

    I tried it already when I was a little sleepy at work… LoL It was sooo fun! How I wish a shop based here in the PH would do that. ^^

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      March 31, 2010 5:21 pm

      I wonder if they ship internationally? Until Topshop would ship overseas, I would have a friend in London make my purchases for me and ship them to me himself. It was expensive, but worth it.

  2. April 2, 2010 2:25 pm

    YOU’RE KILLING ME! I could be forever broke with this.

    I hope they someday (well, when I’m engaged) off this feature with sheer lace shoe bodies. Then it would be perfect.

    (I’ve already designed my bridal shoes.)

    Well I could find plain sheer lace and make/add a shoe clip. That IS the current plan.

  3. April 2, 2010 2:27 pm

    Oh girls, I don’t even have an H&M. My future sister-in-law would gladly personal shop for me in the one in Orlando, but she’d charge me her engineer’s salary, haha. (I’d have to make sure she would surely be quick.)

    But that H&M didn’t even have the last designer range. Ugh.

    It’ll come to Miami someday.

  4. April 2, 2010 2:33 pm

    OK I’m doing it. It’s giving me SHOEGASMS! LOL.

    I must do this every time I’m depressed, bored, burnt out.

    Perfect Good Friday present. 😉

    However I can only buy for when I need this. Like a special event. I’m going nuts with combos, couldn’t decide unless I had a need, you know?

    I think I’ll design my bridesmaids shoes for them this way, gift them to ’em. (I’m making them purses too.)

    Yeah I plan my wedding a lot. Haha. Not happening for at least 3 years. 🙂

    Our careers must be built first, and also we have to pay for it.

Leave a Reply

