Skip to content

Riding the Shoe Wave

March 30, 2010

Are boat shoes in style?

I mean, I think these are cute…but I like mostly anything yellow, so I’m biased.

I’ve seen them recently in several various off-the-beaten path publications and web sites, and over the weekend I saw someone actually wearing them in public.

They look like the kind of casual shoe that can be versatile and work with so many different outfit styles. Kind of like Converse All-Stars.

Are boat shoes the new chucks?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 11:12 am

    I believe in parts of New England and the every trusty South, boat shoes never left style. In fact, when B and I first arrived, it was imperative to go out and buy a pair of said shoes, but only Sperry brand. And they aren’t called “boat shoes” they are top siders.

    I plan on getting a pair before I leave here. Can’t say you’re from “The South” without a pair of top siders, a Vera Bradley handbag or wallet, and one of those thingys that goes around your neck to hold your sun glasses when they are not on your eyes.

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      March 30, 2010 8:57 pm

      “Top-Siders” are a brand name, Boat Shoes are the generic product description. “Kleenex” is a brand name, whereas the generic product name is “Tissues.” I did my research 😛

      Also, should I get these yellow shoes or not?!

  2. March 30, 2010 11:15 am

    Those are comfy! ^^ I have a pair but they don’t have laces but they have the same soles as chucks. Mine’s totally worn off though. I wear them always everyday when I was having my internship about two years ago. I was thinking of getting a new one. ^^

Leave a Reply

