Skip to content

Holy Toledo!

March 22, 2010

Ever since the first time I read about Isabel Toledo in Fashion is My Muse (a must-read for anyone interested in fashion, trust me) I’ve been awestruck by her creative genius, her eclectic nature, and her individuality in a fashion world that often begets “more of the same” year after year. According to F.I.M.M,

In a world that often measures success by fame, I find it utterly refreshing to discover that Isabel Toledo walks her own path. She pursues her own goals, does not follow the trends, and does not show at Fashion Week. She does not consider herself an artist or designer, and prefers to describe herself as a “seamstress” since she loves “the technique of sewing more than anything else.” How radical and how original!

Ms. Toledo fascinates me.  I would (If I had the funds) outfit myself in anything she created, simply because I like the way she works. However, I don’t have unlimited funds.


Imagine how excited I was this morning when I pulled up WWD and read this:

Payless Inks Deal With Isabel Toledo

Oh my gosh! I am so excited!!!!!

Initial plans for the line include incorporating a mix of materials, including patent, nylon and mesh. In true Payless fashion, the collection will retail for less than $40.


“I’m [designing] shoes that you want to see women wear on a day-to-day basis,” said Toledo. “You’ll see a very clean, graphic design, very utilitarian. I’m really interested in making shoes that women can walk in. Even for the evening shoes, I’m trying to address comfort and high style at a great price.”

Toledo’s Fall ’10 footwear collection will launch in September, and will be followed by a Spring ’11 collection that will also include a line of handbags. Yay!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 1:38 pm

    I wish I loved creating more. I’m mostly a designer, visually.

    Stitching a purse today, but taking more time off from that than sewing due to back pain. Sigh.

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      March 24, 2010 2:01 pm

      you make purses? That is so cool! Do you sell them? I get so tired of the cookie-cutter purses I tend to favor (usually from forever 21 or Aldo)

Trackbacks

  1. Isabel Toledo for Payless « Shoe-a-Day

Leave a Reply

