Skip to content

More Time

March 2, 2010

According to NASA, via CNN.com (Sometimes I read stuff other than shoe catalogs) the recent earthquake in Chile has caused (among other things) Earth’s axis to tip, resulting in shorter days.

Don’t worry. It’s only 1.26 microseconds shorter (A microsecond is one-millionth of a second.) meaning that you couldn’t even spot a new pair of platform mary janes in the time you’re losing.

But what was really interesting for me was that other natural disasters of such huge magnitude can actually lengthen the day! (again by only microseconds) This makes me dream of one of those 25-hour days we could all use once in a while.

What would we do with an extra hour? It’s so infrequently that we as a society are given something that doesn’t take away from something else, but this would be the perfect situation.

Before I launch into my dream sequence of what I would do with an extra hour in the day, I have to plug the Red Cross.

Donating to help disaster relief is very important, but it’s also very important to know that you are donating to an organization that will make sure your money goes to where it is needed. Donate to trustworthy, established organizations. There is no more established and trustworthy organization in times of need than the Red Cross. visit redcross.org to make a donation.

Alright, I’m stepping off my soapbox now.

What would I do with an extra hour? Sleep in? Nah, that seems wasteful. Work an extra hour? Too pedestrian!

Wait, I know!

I would head to the Chicago French Market,

Purchase macarons from Vanille Patisserie,

Bibimbap from Square Bowl,

and cheese from Pastoral.

Then I’d nom nom nom nom until my hour was up.

Then I would go buy shoes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    March 2, 2010 10:47 am

    hehe- you used my pictures! And, you said pedestrian. 🙂 I said harbinger in mine today.

  2. Deb permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:18 pm

    loved the photos of the Chicago French market… I want to go there! take me there…

Leave a Reply

