Skip to content

Happy Mardi Gras!

February 16, 2010

It’s been my dream to go to N’awlins for Mardi Gras since I was very young. (What can I say? I love jewelry-even cheap necklaces)

Since today is Fat Tuesday/Mardi Gras, I thought I’d highlight some fabulous Mardi Gras-inspired shoes. I’m taking my inspiration from a King Cake. Mostly because I’m really hungry right now.

*NOTE* When dressing for Mardi Gras, it is imperative to remember two things.

1. You will probably ruin (or even LOSE!) your shoes. Don’t spend a lot of money on them!

2. You will become very, very drunk. Any kind of stabilizing elements in shoes (i.e. shorter heels, thicker heels, wedges, straps, etc) will only help keep you vertical.

Alright, back to business.

1. Gold Shoes

From Charlotte Russe, these no-platform, open-toed booties have just what you need to shimmer at Mardi Gras. Sequins are one of my favorite shoe decorators, and for only $29.99 if you end up barefoot, turned into a frog, chasing after a prince (why YES I saw -and loved- the Princess and the Frog!) you won’t be too upset about wasting buckets of cash.

2. Purple Shoes

Purple Rosettes? Perfect! Low heel? Even better! Price? ohmygoshsoawesome! These T-strap slingback heels from gojane.com are only $17.90!

3. Green Shoes

Low Wedges in green from Steve Madden via Amazon.com $27.99 are perfect for catching beads, running from bar to bar, and stable enough to keep you from slipping in the wee hours of the morning.

Go forth and enjoy the day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 1:05 pm

    OMG! I love the purple shoes… ^^ It looks so cute!

    About the runway photo, umm… that looks a bit painful. T.T

  2. Kari permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:08 pm

    Oh my darling, where do I begin?

    Well, for starters I wouldn’t even dream of wearing such beautiful shoes as you have listed. I would go so far as to say I wouldn’t even wear anything remotely thin, high or open. Do you know how many people spill drinks, pass all sorts of bodily fluids and other disgusting things down on the streets?? Yah, I don’t want to know, either.

    If you were to catch me in NOLA on Fat Tuesday I would either be wearing steel-toed boots (maybe dyed green or purple or yellow for the occasion) or wellies. That way, I can protect myself the best I can from the street disease!

    But, those shoes are lovely! Glitter is my fav!

  3. kjpugs permalink
    February 16, 2010 2:05 pm

    Ohhh I like the green ones… wish it was warm enough to wear them! Darn snow….

Leave a Reply

