Skip to content

Shoes for My Momma

February 2, 2010

My mother is one classy dame.

She’d have to be in order to raise two such kickass daughters like me and Miss Vinyl Ahoy.

And patient. She has LOADS of patience. Miss Vinyl and I weren’t exactly the calmest of children.

Actually, we still aren’t.

We just have better wardrobes now!

In all of my memories, I can only think of one time my mom purchased and wore shoes with heels. The heels were about an inch high and the shoes were so uncomfortable even I couldn’t wear them.

yuck!

During a recent conversation with my momma,  she told me she really wanted to buy a new pair of dress shoes, “you know, maybe with a heel or something.”

Um, hello! Does she not know me? I’m her shoe-obsessed eldest daughter, the Jimmy Choo courtier, the high priestess of decorative podiatry, the stalker of stilettos, the grand duchess of Guess, the leading lady of Louboutin…and the list goes on.  Basically, if she wants new shoes, coming to ME should be her first idea!

To show her that I’m not upset about totally forgetting that shoes are my THING, I’ve prepared a list of wearable pumps for my mom. They are all shoes and brands I have tried on, purchased, or loved for many years. Oh, and they are all black, since I have no idea what color she wants.

First up is Nine West’s Nuncio pump. I love these because they have a shorter heel (3 inch) and a roomy toe area, but still a nice elongated pointy toe. My feet have never felt pinched in my ruby-colored shiny Nuncio pumps. They are available at Nine West for just $69.

I love all Guess shoes. I don’t know what it is about this brand, but the shoes seem to be custom-made to fit my feet. (At a size 9.25 W, that is no easy task) These models, Carrie, do have a higher heel than my mom probably wants, but they have a GREAT fit. And they are so cute!  To try these on in-store, I usually head to Macy’s or Nordstom.

This is a great shoe from J.Crew. At $175, it is a little pricier, but my mom is worth it. (or she has a credit card with a very high limit!) It’s a lower heel than I usually prefer, but my mom is not a big fan of tottering on 5 inch heels.The classic shape of this shoe, combined with the clean lines of the design make this a shoe that she would literally be able to wear for the rest of her life.

And I saved my favorite pick for last. They are also from J.Crew and run a little more expensive than I usually go ($295) but I really think my mom should get these. I think they would be cute in the summer or the winter. (My mom doesn’t like open-toed shoes, so no sandals for summer) They are strappy without being too strappy, and cute and sleek and…just perfect. I think she would love these like a third daughter! I can’t see the detail in the black shoe really well, so I also made sure to check it out in a light neutral.

I think my mom should take me shoe-shopping at Neiman Marcus as a “thank you” for all the research I did!

I can dream, can’t I?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 12:21 pm

    From your picks, I liked the second one, the shiny pumps? ^^ I think your mom would like that one too. 🙂

    I envy you and Vinyl Ahoy. 🙂 I wish I have a sister too!

  2. cherrow414 permalink*
    February 3, 2010 12:56 pm

    My mom saw this and chose the third pumps…I was pretty sure that would be the winner…although they do have a 2.5 inch heel!

    When we were little, we would have gladly given each other away if we could have. Now, we get along much better. I think it has to do with the fact that we live 300 miles apart!

Leave a Reply

