Skip to content

Chillax

January 23, 2010

Came across this amazing article in the New York Times a couple days ago and haven’t been able to get it out of my mind.

Photo by Béatrice de Géa

I am forever intrigued by people who can live differently than most people do. I live without cable TV or a reliable internet connection (thank you to my very understanding neighbors for letting me use their wifi to update this blog) and I think that’s as “extreme” as I could get.

Photo by Scott D. W. Smith

These people live in houses sans traditional levels of heat (say, above 50° Fahrenheit) for different reasons. Some are financial, some are functional, some only make sense to artistic types. “I listen to a lot of music and it just sounds better,” said Mr. Ladda.

Photo by Arianne Teeple

I chose to live without cable for two reasons: because the cost was ridiculous and because I live in one of the greatest cities in the world. I don’t want to watch reality TV instead of going out and experiencing my own reality. The cost was insane, $90 a month when I first moved to Chicago and steadily rising since. $90 a month is a brand-new pair or shoes (or two, if I budget right) each month. I’d rather have the shoes.

I took this article as a personal challenge.  Yes, I am competitive like that. So I’m spending the weekend with my heat set at 55°. We’ll see how long I last. In the meantime, I’m wearing my faux-Uggs to keep warm. Only in the privacy of my apartment, though. I would never wear them outside. I’m not THAT cold/fashion-challenged.

All photos via The New York Times

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

