Skip to content

Wedding Shoes

January 10, 2010

It’s only the second week of January, and I’ve already had three recently-engaged friends ask for shoe suggestions for their wedding day. In an effort to streamline all of their questions, I’m highlighting my favorite memories of a bride’s footwear today.

The first rule of wedding day footwear? Make sure you can actually walk in them!

You’re going to be on your feet in front of your friends, family, and quite a few strangers. You don’t want to fall, wobble, or <horror>  walk around barefoot once you get blisters. These Alexander McQueen shoes are fantastic, but if you can’t walk in them, you shouldn’t wear them for your nuptial celebration. Although, if you can balance in them, more power too you since they are amazing! (and also not really for sale.)

In order to prepare for the big day, you should wear your shoes prior to the wedding…MANY TIMES. Because while it is always nice to be wearing pretty shoes, at your wedding, wearing pretty shoes that don’t cause you to sprain an ankle is really what you should aim for.

My dear friend Kari got married last Memorial Day weekend, and I can’t stress how much I loved her shoes. Besides the fact that they are pink, have bows, and are satin, I was also there when she bought them almost two years earlier from Bakers. That’s right; she did NOT buy new shoes for her wedding.

She knew she could walk in these shoes, and even practiced walking on the grass. She is one of my most intelligent friends!

That brings me to my second suggestion: Shop your closet. Seriously! If I was to get married tomorrow, I would easily be able to pick from what I already own. If you’re on a tight budget, wearing shoes you already own is a good way to save some $$.

And my last suggestion? Bring a pair of flats/low heels for dancing.  Kari changed into these cute pink flats in order to party it up all night without breaking her legs on the dance floor. They were very similar in color to her heels, and still looked fabulous as she partied until dawn.

And when she and her brand-new husband finally departed the celebration, it wasn’t tacky at all when she carried her heels. In fact, this is one of my favorite pictures from her wedding!

Wedding photos borrowed from Kari, taken by Lovelight Photography.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 2:35 pm

    When I finally pick mine out I’ll letcha know 🙂

Leave a Reply

