Skip to content

Win it! I Love Macarons Book Giveaway

December 22, 2009

I know that most of you are already home for the holidays and in search of some entertainment, so I’m going to have an after-holiday giveaway! See below for the details.

I read about this book first on Eat Me Daily (Yes, I like stylish shoes and attractive food) and thought “hmmm… this might be the perfect dessert/cookie cookbook for me.”

Since, according to…well, a crapload of sources (that’s a scientific measurement…”Crapload”) say french macarons are the new cupcake.

And if I hear one more “something is the new something else” I will lose my mind…

Back to the book!

Now, after purchasing The Pioneer Woman‘s cookbook with its step-by-step photos of the cooking/baking process (think of it as a “cooking-for-dummies-like-Cher-who-can’t-cook guide”) I was sure that the I Love Macarons book, with its step-by-step guide, would be just as simple and fun!

Boy, was I wrong.

I think I know where I went wrong (it was when I decided to rent an apartment with a kick-ass tricked-out kitchen instead of a studio with only a mini-fridge and a microwave.) so I will try to do better next time. This book also gives explanations as to why your macarons didn’t work the first time (because, I promise you, they will not be perfect the first time out.) Some of the directions are slightly confusing, but if you read through the book BEFORE you start cooking (unlike me) then you should be fine. And the end result is DELICIOUS!!!!

So, while I try to figure out why my macarons were paper thin, hard as rocks ,and why the buttercream had sharp, glass-like fragments in it, I’m giving away a copy of I Love Macarons!

All you have to do to win is to leave a comment on this post with what color macarons you would prefer to make.  I personally like to super-bright pink ones.

No entries after 11:00 Eastern Time on Christmas, and I’ll chose a winner on Saturday.  Now, it’s time for me to re-watch the tape of SyFy’s Alice my sister left me (oh Hatter, you’ve stolen my heart)

Good luck!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 8:57 am

    I want to make some green ones!!

  2. December 23, 2009 9:07 am

    GREEN! The little pistachio ones stole my heart even before I knew what flavor they were. But I also like the ones on the book cover- very nicely coordinated.

  3. Susan permalink
    December 23, 2009 11:37 am

    Purple!!

  4. Kari permalink
    December 23, 2009 11:47 am

    pink. I love green but I don’t think pistachio would taste as good as a raspberry or strawberry or any other pink fruit.

  5. Jen permalink
    December 24, 2009 1:39 pm

    I would love to make pink macarons

Leave a Reply

