Skip to content

My Favorite (Shoe) Things: Under $100

December 16, 2009

So, here’s the last list. I know that the economy is dragging and money is tight, but if you can budget the money and want to get a special person a truly thoughtful and memorable gift this holiday season, check out my top ten under $100.

10. SpaFinder gift Certificate

I don’t like to be touched, and a ex-boyfriend booked a massage and a facial for me. The facial was wonderful… the massage was very uncomfortable. I wish he wouldn’t have wasted the money on something that I couldn’t even get through (yes, I realize I am weird in this DON’T-TOUCH-ME mentality…) The facial I got was just under $100 before tip, so an even $100 gift certificate would be a lovely present.

By letting your recipient chose her spa experience, he or she will enjoy it more fully then if you chose an experience they may not prefer.

9. Cashmere Cashmere Cashmere!!!

Can be very expensive (for the GOOD stuff) but you can spend a reasonable amount on something that will last her forever, like  a wrap/scarf from Nordstrom. ($98)

8. A statement necklace

Like this one from J Crew. ($98)

7. Tickets to an art museum

I love the Art Institute in Chicago. I wish I could go there every week, but it’s so expensive. A perfect present for a visual person or budding artist are admission tickets! Tickets for two are $56.

6. Nikon Coolpix Digital Camera

Not just functional, this ruby red camera goes great with your holiday wardrobe. $98 from Best Buy online.

5. Gilmore Girls: The Complete Series Collection

So this is my all-time favorite show. The mother/daughter team of Rory and Lorelai never cease to entertain me. I know it’s a bit over $100, but it’s on sale for 50% on Amazon. Snatch it up while it’s still available

4. A Festive Handbag

Cute, ruffle-y, and a festive green, this tote adds an element of fun to any oufit. $70 from Banana Republic.

3. A fancy pair of flats

The quintessential go-to piece this winter, Jeffrey Campbell’s pearl encrusted ruffled flats are super cute and soooo on sale now. These shoes are even on sale now. $89 from Free People.

2. A Thoughtful Collection

What does your recipient like? A sharp-dressed lady has substantial stuffs on her feel, but she should also have substance in her head. Take something she’s interested in and expand upon that. Take a general interest and give them a collection  of gifts. For example: My dear sister (I hope you’re not reading this) loves Paris, France and is a fashion fiend. So for Christmas I put together a package of three books, a movie, and treats:

Queen of Fashion: What Marie Antoinette Wore to the Revolution by Caroline Weber ($11.52)

Versailles: Biography of a Palace by Tony Spawforth ($18.15)

Marie Antoinette movie on DVD ($10.99)

French Petit Fours…tiny, delicious cakes! ($55)

1. Chocolate. ’nuff said.

Seriously. If you spent $82 at Godiva on a 70-piece ballotin, I’d love you forever.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

