Skip to content

My Blog Addiction

November 29, 2009

I’m spending the long weekend 300 miles from Project Runaway From My Closet. This is a good thing. I think I’ll be able to get some perspective by not staring at a giant black hole for a few days.

 
I’m browsing around some of my favorite blogs to get inspiration for my closet.  Once upon a time, I had never read a blog. Now, I subscribe to more than 30 blogs, and read dozens more on a not-so-regular basis. I have one person to blame for that.
 
 
Way back when I was a naive, idealistic recent college grad, I moved to a tiny town masquerading as a midwestern state capital and worked for a non-profit organization. My experiences at this job made The Devil Wears Prada look like a children’s bedtime story. However, I did have a FANTASTIC coworker, and her friendship during our time at the NPO  and in the years since we’ve both moved on to better things made the experience almost bearable. Her effortless grasp on style and design makes my creative efforts look more like fingerpaining than actual professional design.
 
 
My favorite interior style blogs were all suggested by this friend, a super-stylish Florida (formerly Illinois/Iowa/Indiana) military wife, Kari. She wore ropes and ropes of pearls on her wedding day -and didn’t look like a little girl playing dress up (which is what I would look like if I tried that look)- and is the foremost advocate of form over function…at least, she is of all the people I know.
 
 
She introduced me firstly to Design*Sponge, and from there on I was like a rolling stone gathering moss. Now I read:
and so many more.
 

A lovely organized closet via The Style Files.

 From there, I subscribed to blogs that inspired me through their beautiful pictures and images. Sometimes I refer back to these sites just to get inspiration at the start of a workday if I’ve got a long day of web/graphic design ahead of me:
The Sartorialist
The Pioneer Woman
The Dieline

The Pioneer Woman's photos are always so gorgeous.

And lastly, I read blogs which inspire me through their writing, content, and (especially) their humor. We can’t all be serious all the time!
Serious Eats
Geekologie
The Meatloafy

Doesn't every cat sleep with a snuggie like Meatloafy?

Of course, this is not an exhaustive list. I read many other blogs and I am forever adding more to my blogroll. Scroll to the bottom of the main page to see my most current blogroll.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

