Skip to content

Sartorial Excavation Extravaganza: Day 3(ish)

November 24, 2009

This week has been crazy.

CRAZY!

I’ve noticed that several other blogs I follow have been posting less in the last several days, so I take comfort in knowing that I’m not alone in dealing with the holiday frenzy.

So last night I finally made a run to Ikea to grab a few items I decided that get for my latest home endeavor: Project Runaway From My Closet.

I picked up several of the Kompliment shoe boxes from Ikea.

They work fine. They are kind of slippery, but simple to set up and they will do what I wanted them to do (keep dust out of my shoes and stack them where I can see them)

Want to see them in action?

I took these with my cell phone, so forgive the quality, please!

Don’t worry, I’m not finished.

Then other side is still in real shoe boxes.

I also bought a thin white curtain and a huge white curtain rod to serve as “doors.” I’m going to mount the bar just below the celing and let the curtains just flow down to the floor. They aren’t entirely sheer, but they aren’t opaque, either. They are that perfect “Goldilocks” middle…you know, just right.

I had intended to buy two Antonius carts.

Once I was able to look at the display and actually mess around with the carts in person, I determined that they were just not sturdy enough for what I need. I tend to be kind of “bull-in-a-china-shop”-ish when I’m in my own home. If I could cover everything in my apartment in bubble wrap, I would. So it’s back to the drawing board for my storage carts.

Here’s a list (and links) to what I bought:

Shoe Boxes

Curtain Rod

Curtains

Starbucks Skim Peppermint Mocha (a girl’s got to remain caffeinated!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

