Skip to content

Winter Shoes

November 8, 2009

I always have the hardest time deciding what I want my new winter shoes to be. You see, new winter shoes are a necessity for me, and not just because I love shoes. This is simply due to the fact that winter in Chicago is HARSH.

Last year, for about 10 days in a row the temperature did not go above -20 degrees Fahrenheit.  There was so much ice and snow and the frozen water was BRITTLE because it was so cold. My breath would freeze on my tongue if I opened my mouth.

I would wear:
two hats
two scarves
mittens OVER gloves
a giant parka
a sweater
at least 3 shirts (undershirt, long-sleeved shirt and dress shirt over them)
dress pants
tights
long underwear
leg warmers
at least two pairs of socks
and warm boots over that.

AND STILL I was so cold that I would have pushed my own dear mother out of the way in order to find warmth. So new, warm shoes are a must, but what kind?

tallboots

Boots?

heels

Heels?

hunter-wellington-boots

Wellies?

abercrombieflipflops

Flip Flops? (In case I decide to think POSITIVE that it might not be -20 degrees for three solid months here in the Windy City. Doubtful)

I thought I would want these boots, nicknamed my Boston Boots.

trigueiro1

But they have not gone on sale yet, and I’ll be damned if I’m going to pay full price for something that is already overpriced!

So today I went to Target today (yes, in spite of the fact that my wisdom teeth were pulled yesterday and I am taking copious amounts of painkillers….F.Y.I. I love Vicodin. If you want to get me something for Christmas, get me Vicodin…I kid, that’s illegal.) and I was in search of these fold-over knee-high/over the knee boots. They had a flat heel,  look  like rough suede and they actually fit over my muscular 15 inch calves. However, they did not come in my size.

So I headed over to Spring shoes. and found these!

spring gratton bootsThey are called “Gratton” and they are about a 2 inch heel, perfect for all the upcoming winter trips to Boston I have planned.  My boyfriend is about 4 inches taller than I am and REALLY wants to stay taller (that’s a guy for you!) so I got the short ones.

However, I also bought these:

studded pumps

I’ll wear them when I’m in Chicago and the boyfriend is nowhere to be found.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 2:10 am

    You should put a link to these shoes. I’m interested in knowing where I might purchase a pair. I especially like the Gratton low boot.

Leave a Reply

