Skip to content

“Best Enemies” Shoes

October 13, 2009

When Cherrow and I were younger, we had a book called “Best Enemies.”
bestenemies
It was about two little girls that had a love-hate relationship. In one of the chapters in the book, the main character, Pricillia, goes shoe shopping with her mom.

In the book, a pair of shoes is described, and Cherrow and I could always picture them clearly.

bestenemies2
(There are the shoes!)

Fast forward 20-ish years. I was in my local Target store, shopping for some reason I don’t remember. I always walk through the shoe section, in case anything catches my eye.

Boy, did a pair of shoes catch my eye.

51lrxFF8ZkL__AA260_

I saw nearly the exactly pair of shoes described in this book, in adult sizes with heels.

I immediatly took a picture and sent it to Cherrow, with the caption, “Look familiar?”
About 20 seconds later she responded, “OMG- I know those shoes!”

I bought them that day. They’re super comfortable, and I wanted red shoes, so I didn’t buy them just because they were familiar to me, but that helped.

Now, when I see them, it’s like looking at an old friend. They look like the shoes in the book we read so many years ago, but more grown-up. My husband thinks I’m crazy for remembering a pair of shoes from a book so vividly, but I do!

They are a constant reminder of something Cherrow and I loved in our childhood, but they aren’t childish.

Have you ever bought something because it reminded you of something like your childhood?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 2:05 pm

    Haha! Really?? You actually remembered the shoes after how many years? Plus you’ve just read it from the book and not seen it personally. I think I’m not capable of that. XD

    You seemed to be quite close to each other. I envy you guys… I wish I had a sister instead of a moody brother. lol ^^

    • princessfancypants permalink
      October 14, 2009 5:48 pm

      yeah, i’d say we are pretty close. We don’t live in the same citythough, so sometimes we can get weird and bored. but it’s fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

