Skip to content

Fancy Friday: Monday Edition

September 21, 2009

I’m back! I know… You’ve been breathless with anticipation for my return. Well, I’m back with a make-up for Friday.

I read the blog Showawa almost religiously.  They showcase the latest  shoe trends, new releases -even the bad ones- and offer suggestions of where to find less expensive versions of popular shoes. In a post last October, these gorgeous sparkly studded heels were featured and I knew I had to have them.

guessshoes_balmainss091photo via shoewawa

They are diamanté and stud-encrusted pieces of AWESOMENESS from Balmain’s Spring/Summer 2009 collection.  The last time I checked, they were £1,370 on Net-a-Porter (Yeah, that’s $2,215 US dollars…) which is just a tiny bit (read: WAAAAY) out of my price range. Plus, they were very silver-y and I’m not much of a silver person. (I prefer gold.)  So I was very excited last week when I stumbled upon these shoes from Bakers:

BakersDarcyImage via Bakers

At $79.95, these are totally affordable! However, if these are still too expensive (These multiple plane tickets to Boston are starting to clean me out!) I found an even cheaper version at Aldo for only $59.98 (on sale) They are a little less bling-y but still have that WHOA-I’ve-Been-Blown-Away-By-Studs-look to them.

moldoviImage via Aldo

I think the bottom line is that I want to dress like a disco ball!! I love sequins, mirrors, and anything shiny.

It’s ok, though. I tend to wear solid-colored clothing (patterns bug me) so I can get really fancy with my footwear without feeling like I’m a contestant on a reality-show version of To Wong Foo Thanks For Everything, Julie Newmar.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

