Skip to content

Something’s Fishy at Modcloth

June 2, 2010

Now, I don’t often use my blog as a platform to raise hell (I do enough of that in real life) but I needed to talk about something that really irks me.

I posted a comment on a Modcloth blog post asking for suggestions on future featured bloggers. Of course, I nominated Miss Vinyl Ahoy. Not only does she LOVE Modcloth, but she’s totally into that whole vintage/retro thing (Me? Not so much. But to each his own.)

I’ve nominated her several times, so I check out the featured Modcloth blogger every week and I’ve noticed a disturbing pattern.

Since the company started sponsoring blogs last year, ALL (save two international bloggers) of the featured bloggers are sponsored by Modcloth. As in, Modcloth PAYS them in some way to post an ad, talk about free products, etc. on their blog. As I said, this irked me. So I yet again nominated Miss Vinyl Ahoy, with a little additional comment. It published immediately.

BUT!

Then it was “unpublished” A.K.A “Waiting for Moderation.”

Something is fishy at Modcloth. It’s one thing to feature bloggers that you already have on the payroll, but disclose it, please. Don’t waste our time if you’re going to ask for nominations and then ignore them.

***Update: 30 minutes after I posted the first comment, it was approved. Interesting…I wonder if Modcloth has a Google Alert for their blog?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 2:45 pm

    Hi Cher,

    Turi here with ModCloth. Just to clarify, we manually approve and post all of the comments on our blog, and it was just a complete accident that your comment wasn’t immediately approved, but we caught it as quickly as we could and posted it. We apologize for the confusion, and if anything like this happens in the future you can email support@modcloth.com and we’ll rectify the situation.

    We’re sorry that you feel like your nomination was ignored. We receive many inquiries and recommendations about our Blogger of the Moment feature and it’s impossible for us to showcase every blogger suggested. Sometime a blogger contacts us about Blogger of the Moment and/or a reader recommends them, and since we have such a long queue of fabulous bloggers, that contact leads to a sponsorship before they become Blogger of the Moment. Alternatively, we often feature a blog and then begin sponsoring them at the same time, or shortly after. We also always give the Blogger of the Moment a few gifts as a thank you for participating in the interview, which they often feature on their blog.

    We started Blogger of the Moment as a way to highlight exciting and inspiring daily outfit bloggers that we feel fit the aesthetic of the ModCloth girl. Many of the bloggers emailed six months to a year ago about being Blogger of the Moment. If a blogger is interested in a sponsorship, they can sign up for our affiliate program and receive commission. They can find details here: http://www.modcloth.com/storefront/main/affiliate

    As an additional way to highlight bloggers, we also frequently feature them in our Seen Style Section: http://blog.modcloth.com/category/seen-style

    I hope this post helped to clarify some of your concerns. The Blogger of the Moment feature is intended to be a positive space for amazing bloggers to get a special moment to shine.

    • June 2, 2010 3:07 pm

      Hi Turi, this is Suze (miss vinyl ahoy). I applied to be Blogger of the Moment in January and again in April. Obviously it’s more worth it to Modcloth to feature a blogger they sponsor, since Modcloth wants the traffic they send out to come back to them.

      I don’t think Cher’s comment, or post was about Modcloth sponsoring bloggers, I think it was more about the featured bloggers pretty much only being girls that Modcloth sponsors.

      I have to say I agree with Cher that I’d like to see some other bloggers on there. I know Modcloth has to do what’s good for them as a brand, but I know I get discouraged when I apply and hope I’ll hear something back, and hope I’ll be featured, but never am. I’m sure I’m not the only non-Modcloth sponsored blogger to feel this way.

      Suze

      PS- I’ve also had problems with my reviews of products not being approved if they’re not entirely positive. I’ve had a few issues with some clothing (it not fitting right, being poorly constructed, or not looking good at all) and I’ve written an honest review, only to have it sit in the queue for days, or a week in one case. I’m sure that isn’t something to take up here, but I figured I would let you know about it.

  2. cherrow414 permalink*
    June 2, 2010 3:47 pm

    What’s super interesting about my post not being approved is that it WAS actually immediately approved, only to be “unapproved” 30 seconds later. So, someone over at Modcloth saw my controversial comment after it was posted and hurried to hide it. I work in PR, I know how it is.

    If Modcloth wants to continue promoting itself as a separate-from-the-mainstream, rebel-against-the-norm “Online Vintage Fashion Haus” then they shouldn’t have mainstream PR practices. It’s shady and turns customers off.

    I will no longer be promoting Modcloth. In case you didn’t know, their products can be found elsewhere (like Amazon.com, plasticland, http://www.gojane.com or http://www.sinistersoles.com/ ) for much, MUCH cheaper. If anyone needs assistance finding items similar to Modcloth items, please let me know. I would be more than happy to help out FOR FREE.

    Have a lovely Wednesday!

    • Fiona permalink
      September 6, 2010 12:21 am

      I found this post while googling “is modcloth worth it?”; like many others I fell in love with a lot of ModCloth’s selection but really hesitant to purchase due to the price & quality, and since I’m in Canada I have to worry about shipping as well! This is a long shot but do you by any chance know where I can find this dress online for cheaper? http://www.modcloth.com/store/ModCloth/Womens/Annapolis+Dress

      Any help would be appreciated! :)

      • September 6, 2010 8:17 pm

        Fiona,
        This is Cher’s sister, Suze. Send me and email and I’ll see if I can help (vinylahoy (at) gmail.com)

Trackbacks

  1. Somebody doesn’t like me! The dangers of Formspring | Miss Vinyl Ahoy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

