Skip to content

Celebrating Earth Day at Shoe-A-Day

April 22, 2010

It’s Earth Day! You might be thinking “Hey, Shoe-A-Day is a nice blog and the author is super fabulous but what does Earth Day have to do with shoes?”

I’m fairly certain that the general consensus. :)

Let me get return from my ego trip and tell you that shoes are, in fact, a part of Earth Day. But how?

Shoes Can Be Donated

As I’ve stated before, I own approximately 76 billion pairs of shoes (roughly) and try as I might, I just can’t wear them all! But throwing them away is irresponsible.

Every few months, I take a good long look at my closet and try to weed out the shoes I haven’t worn recently. I take these shoes and donate them. Ladies, if you have a ton of work-appropriate heels like me,  you can donate to Dress for Success, a non-profit organization which promotes the economic independence of disadvantaged women by providing professional attire, among other valuable career assistance. I love this organization, because it recognizes the need for women to wear professional ensembles in addition to having a good skill base and professional skills. Dress for Success also is in need of other items besides shoes.

This is a fantastic organization for women. I’m thrilled to know something like it exists! I feel like society has taken a huge step forward since I learned about Dress for Success. To learn more, visit their web site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

