Skip to content

2010 Academy Award Shoes!

March 8, 2010

It is so challenging to find pictures of shoes on the Oscar red carpet!I was up until the wee hours of the morning trying to get the best shoe shots I could.

But I finally am satisfied with what I have, so without further ado, here is my review of the shoes of the 2010 Academy Awards:

I really have no idea what Mariah Carey was doing at the Academy Awards. Was she nominated for something and I am just completely oblivious to that fact? Regardless, she looks gorgeous, and her classic Louboutins are perfection. Nude shoes are really in right now. I won’t comment on just how many I have already bought since Fashion Week ended….but it’s more than a few.

Speaking of nude shoes, tiny Anna Kendrick was in search of towering shoes to wear to her inaugural nomination Oscars (I don’t know why, but that sentence makes me think of the Olympics…Did I mention that I am really tired?) and it looks like she found them. I love these platform strappy nude sandals. I think they work so well with her skin tone and the dress but without looking too “matchy-matchy.” They are Sergio Rossi Suede Birdcage Sandals ($750 on shopbop.com)

Was Hillary Swank nominated for anything? I’m not loving the dress…in fact, I’m veering towards hating it, but I love her lattice heels. Payless has an inexpensive ($20!) pair in several colors.

Prada Heels? I’ll take them! Carey Mulligan, who was arguable the best-dressed star last night, wore gorgeous edgy black thick-strap shoes. I love them. I can’t find them in black, but what about snakeskin? ($990 from Neiman Marcus)

Meryl Streep led me, as she did Sandra Bullock, on a wild goose chase. However, after much exhausting research I can say that she is wearing Jimmy Choo platform sandals (Zena for $895) and who knew she could rock a 5+ inch heel with 2 inch platform so well???? Go Meryl!

Purple! Purple! Purple! I love this dress…I love the purple shoes. I can’t tell if they are heels or wedges, but my money is on heels. This look was one of my very favorite.  I love when stars veer away from the neutral/metallic shoes of the Proms of Yore.  I can’t find these online, but I think a simple online search for purple heels would result in total fabulous feet-ness. (Update: These shoes, along with the dress, are by Givenchy)

UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE! UPDATE!

I found even more!

Demi Moore in Versace shoes. The picture isn’t very good. If anyone has a better one, please let me know.

Bubble-Wrapped Jennifer Lopez in Silver Satin Ferragamo pumps. I’m surprised, after declaring her love for Louboutin, that she opted for Ferragamo. But not too surprised, since these heels are just lovely!

Sandra Bullock in Jimmy Choo. Sigh. The whole look is fantastic. She and her statue match perfectly. ($650 at Jimmy Choo)

Notably Absent:

Stuart Weitzman’s million-dollar shoes were once again missing from the red carpet. Way back in 2008, the evening’s big winner, Diablo Cody, opted not to wear the extravagant heels just hours before her triumphant Oscars debut. And this year, Mr. Weitzman thought better of the showy shoe-pieces.

“While the Oscars will certainly still be a glamorous event, we feel this year — like we did last year — that it is still not appropriate to be extravagant,” Weitzman told StyleList. “As such, we have decided not to create a ‘million dollar shoe’ for someone to wear to the 2010 ceremony.”

Thank goodness, I am done. Time for a nap!

not in attendance

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 4:11 pm

    Wow, you found all those shoes? Haha.

    I actually love J. Lo’s shoes. Simple, round toe, cute, and also nude.

    I’m wanting round toe nude heels, Target has some pointy ones that I know I can wear because I have them in leopard. Tehe… But I just don’t think nude + pointy toe go well. What do you think? Feel free to make that a post. Haha.

    Anyway staying up all night for one’s blog can pay off. I do well that way sometimes. Sometimes I take it too far (late). Today went well for me. :-) Yep, I did it this Oscars … and I realized it’s a decent idea on big awards nights/mornings. For me anyway, but your post came out great, so there’s that.

    (I actually looked forward to it for like an hour. Haha.)

  2. March 8, 2010 4:34 pm

    Great work with your research! This is the most comprehensive collection of Oscars 2010 shoes I’ve been able to find. Really, kudos =)

    • cherrow414 permalink*
      March 8, 2010 6:25 pm

      Thanks! It was not easy…lots of “hmm I think that looks like Ferragamo but it might not….” Maybe I should have not done the research at 3 am!

  3. March 8, 2010 7:03 pm

    Ooh I saw J. Lo’s shoes wrong in the photo I have on my blog.

    Wow, I must write about how TINY Demi Moore is. Yowzas.

  4. March 9, 2010 10:23 am

    WOW! How did you do that?? LoL You’re a show goddess! XD I dunno how you are able to tell where the shoes are from or who designed them! I think it would take me weeks even with Google’s help. XD

    I hate Mariah but I love her shoes… but wait, I wanted to see Demi’s shoes… I think they look good. ^^

  5. cherrow414 permalink*
    March 9, 2010 1:16 pm

    I can’t tell you how awesome it is that you all read and liked my post. It’s so nice to know that there is at least one person in the world who liked what I spent all my A.M. hours doing yesterday! (And today, as well…check out the new post!)

Trackbacks

  1. Best and worst from the Oscars «
  2. Oscar Shoes UPDATE « Shoe-a-Day
  3. 2010 Oscar Shoes: The Look for Less « Shoe-a-Day
  4. This Beautiful Detail Shot of Demi Moore’s Oscar Gown by Versace is just a shameless excuse to… « Pursed Lips « design, style, business
  5. Featured blogger: Shoe-a-day « Miss Vinyl Ahoy
  6. Luck of the Irish (shoes) « Shoe-a-Day
  7. Best Deal Today: Chinese Laundry « Shoe-a-Day
  8. 2010 Emmy Awards: From the Feet Up « Shoe-a-Day

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

